This much I know about…what I learnt at the Sutton Trust-Gates Summit this week

johntomsett

I have been a teacher for 26 years, a Headteacher for 11 years and, at the age of 50, this much I know about what I learnt at the Sutton Trust-Gates Summit this week.

I still get excited like a child. On 8 January 1980 the Clash played The Brighton Top Rank and my 15 year old self was there.

Kingswest

Two decades later, when the venue was dubbed The Event II and hosted discos, I made a point of dancing on stage at the very spot where Strummer had belted out London’s Calling all those years before. At the Omni-Shoreham hotel in Washington DC below, venue for the Sutton Trust-Gates Teacher Improvement Summit, I delivered my talk from the Blue Room stage, the very same stage from which The Beatles played their first ever concert in the US.

wassho-omni-shoreham-hotel-exterior

The Omni-Shoreham even had the set-list on display, written in biro by John…

View original post 1,291 more words

Leave a Reply

